This song is a protest about racism, in this case Michael Jackson denounce the treatment suffered by the blacks in USA. He condemn the fact that even in the 1996 ,when it was written, blacks and whites are different and even in theory they have the same rights, blacks have to beared abuses from skinhead and abuses from police officers.

I choose that song because I love the beat and the rhythm, and seems that he shoots you with words and the music.

Then I realise that he play on words in the lyrics a lot.

Curiously he uses the pronoun “us” to play on words with US (United States of America) and remind everyone that blacks are in US and blacks also belong to USA and they have their rights and equality but nobody cares about them.

Then he also play on words with black male, blackmail to express that black people are suffering blackmail.

Michael Jackson remember us in this song that this fight is an old fight but still alive, the fight started with Martin Luther and Roosevelt and even now it’s something present.

In addition this song have a lot of vocabulary about this matter like protest, and racism which is very useful vebause they are recurrent matters in compositions and discussions.

After all maybe music is a good way to protest because nowadays USA have a black president, so Music really reaches our hearts? Do you have any protests? Let’s go to lodge a protest singing.


“They Don’t Care About Us”

Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
Situation, aggravation
Everybody allegation
In the suite, on the news
Everybody dog food
Bang bang, shot dead
Everybody’s gone mad

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

Beat me, hate me
You can never break me

Will me, thrill me
You can never kill me
chew me, sue me
Everybody do me
Kick me, kick me
Don’t you black or white me

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

Tell me what has become of my life
I have a wife and two children who love me
I am the victim of police brutality, now
I’m tired of bein’ the victim of hate
You’re rapin’ me of my pride
Oh, for God’s sake
I look to heaven to fulfill its prophecy…
Set me free

Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
trepidation, speculation
Everybody allegation
In the suite, on the news
Everybody dog food
Black male, black mail
Throw your brother in jail

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

Tell me what has become of my rights
Am I invisible because you ignore me?
Your proclamation promised me free liberty, now
I’m tired of bein’ the victim of shame
They’re throwing me in a class with a bad name
I can’t believe this is the land from which I came
You know I do really hate to say it
The government don’t wanna see
But if Roosevelt was livin’

He wouldn’t let this be, no, no

Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
Situation, speculation
Everybody litigation
Beat me, bash me
You can never trash me
Hit me, kick me
You can never get me

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

Some things in life they just don’t wanna see
But if Martin Luther was livin’
He wouldn’t let this be

Skin head, dead head
Everybody gone bad
Situation, segregation
Everybody allegation
In the suite, on the news
Everybody dog food
Kick me, strike me
Don’t you wrong or right me

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us
All I wanna say is that
They don’t really care about us

